Motherhood is… Lightning and Sally

motherhood is (1)

Until just a few weeks ago, Ian has called Evan and I “Mack” and “Sally” rather than “Mom” and “Dad.” He saw the movie Cars and considered himself Lightning McQueen. He assigned everyone in our family a different role to play, and while I expected him to get over this pretty quickly…he didn’t. Often, in public, someone would ask, “What is he calling you?” and I’d have to explain the whole thing. 

He calls me “Sally.”
It’s been over a year now.
I’m a blue sports car.

“Who’s ‘Sally?’” they ask.
Lightning McQueen’s love interest.
That’s who I am now.

Suddenly, he stopped.
We went to Florida, and
now I’m “Mom” again.

I guess he’s growing.
Though it wasn’t what I’d choose,
I’m missing my name.

IMG_5048

This is Day 10 of my Write 31 Days series. You can read the rest of the series here.

3 thoughts on “Motherhood is… Lightning and Sally

  1. Also – love the new site design!

  2. God, your haikus makes me want to cry real embarrassing tears! 😥

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close