Why I’m Craving Rhythm & Routine

Despite my self-proclaimed and well-documented Type-A personality, I’ve always been terrible at establishing consistent habits and routines. (Except for a daily iced coffee. I’m good at that one.) I think my perfectionism has something to do with this; once I’ve fallen off the wagon for a day or two, I write off the whole effort as a failure. I guess you might assume that perfectionists have a lot of self-discipline, and I’m sure some of us do, but I’m not one of them. Unless my reputation or someone else’s opinion of me is on the line, I rarely follow through.

Lately, I’m thinking a lot about rhythms and routines. Just as I’m not good at establishing personal habits, we don’t have many consistent habits established as a family. Of course, with two little ones (and another on the way!), and Evan’s long/unpredictable work hours, this isn’t totally unreasonable. I don’t have delusions of our days running on a carefully-timed schedule or my kiddos marching around like the VonTrapps.

We have Friday night pizza nights, and we are (almost) always at church on Sunday mornings. In the fall, we turn on College Gameday every Saturday morning. Still, even with meals planned and outfits decluttered, even with toys contained and calendars cleared, I’m a little overwhelmed with decision fatigue. Maybe I am trying to compensate for some of the chaos of our current stage of life, but I’m craving a little more rhythm and a little more routine.

I’m daydreaming about Saturday morning breakfasts at the same cafe and lacing up our sneakers for a daily evening walk. I’m wondering what it would look like if Ian knew to expect a little outside time right after lunch, or if he knew to get dressed right after breakfast each morning.

Since moving, I have learned a lot about not to put my value in a full calendar, but I still find that I like to know what to expect from our days. Nothing makes me feel more anxious than when Evan says, “What are you and the boys up to tomorrow?” and I have to respond, “I don’t know.”

The lack of routine and rhythm in our schedules and our hours is making me feel a little out of sync in my heart and soul as well.

So, I’d love to know! What rhythms, routines, and habits are working in your homes these days? Any tips for forming habits, for the typically habit-adverse among us?

Author: Lindsey Cornett

A Florida girl navigating life in Michigan // learning to trade perfectionism for freedom with an iced coffee in hand

Leave a Reply

