What I Learned (May 2016)

It’s that time again! Time to share what I learned in May.

learned
1. We (as a society) have watched 400 million years worth of YouTube videos. I can’t decide if I think this is a terrifying or awe-inspiring accomplishment. Maybe both? When I first read this, I thought, “We don’t watch that much YouTube!” Then I remembered Sesame Street songs and Peppa Pig, and I thought, “Oh…ok.”

2. Adulting is hard, and it is practically impossible to find a primary care doctor in West Michigan. I will not regale you with all the nitty-gritty details of my search for a primary care doctor, but let’s just say I spent literally hours on the phone and computer before I finally found a doctor. (Now let’s say a prayer that I actually like her.) It’s so frustrating when I finally decide to tackle a task I’ve been putting off, only to have it turn out to be even more difficult than anticipated.

3. Rejection is sometimes worth celebrating. Over the past few months, I have started submitting essays and articles for publication to a few places. My fear of rejection is real and often loud, but you know what? I was actually excited to receive my first rejection letter. I immediately turned around and resubmitted the piece somewhere else, and I created a folder in my inbox for all future rejection letters. I hope there will be a lot of them, because that means there is a lot of writing happening around here.

4. There is yet even more room left in my heart for loving tulips. At the beginning of the month, Evan’s mom and sister came for a visit, and we trekked out to Holland to see the tulips. I was even more in awe of them this year than last. (I think it had something to do with having endured the winter!) I have always loved tulips, and somehow, seeing thousands of them has only made my love grow. The colors! The variety! I’m in awe.

IMG_3157

5. On the parenting front, I learned that it helps to have toys set aside for rainy days and sick days. (And by “it helps,” I mean it may save your life. Or at least your sanity.) I came down with a nasty virus last week (complete with fever and dehydration). Meanwhile, Evan had bought and set aside a little box of toy construction vehicles for Ian. I was SO grateful when all I wanted to do was curl up on the couch with a box of tissues, and I could pull out those toys. It’s a parenting tool I’m going to keep in my back pocket from now on. (P.S. I recently heard one of the hosts of the Coffee & Crumbs podcast explain that whenever one of her children is home sick, they go out for ice cream. I love that idea so much! Even the worst days deserve a little fun.)

IMG_4486

6. We’re eating more apples these days, and it’s because they’re sliced. I don’t know why, but I found this article so fascinating. And just speaking for myself, I HATE biting into a whole apple. We can all thank McDonalds for this, apparently.

7. And finally, in an ode to my word of the year, I learned that joy is contagious. When I first saw the Chewbacca mask video show up in my news video, I ignored it. Then I ignored it again. And again. And finally, finally, just because it was showing up SO many times…I watched. And y’all. I haven’t laughed that hard in awhile. Joy is contagious, as over 100 MILLION views clearly indicates.

Here’s to a summer full of learning lots of new, good things. What did you learn this month?

 

4 thoughts on “What I Learned (May 2016)

  1. fun post, lindsey! i’m so glad you’re submitting pieces — i love that you’re celebrating rejection. i think that’s a swell attitude 🙂

    also, i was just curious — WHEN do you listen to podcasts?

  2. GREAT question. I listen to them a lot less these days. I used to be able to listen to them in the car, but now Ian talks almost non-stop in the car. I listen in the shower, while I’m doing dishes, and during nap time, mostly. (I have been known to volunteer to do the dishes, so Evan entertains the boys, and I get to listen to a show!) I also use the Overcast app, which has a “Smart Speed” feature that saves mea lot of time. I doesn’t really SOUND like the podcast is sped up, but it is. (Who knows how that works.)

  3. nice. thanks. gonna try Overcast! do you have a list of your favorite podcasts? i know you mention a lot but, like, a compiled list for a newbie? haha

  4. I am working on a list for you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close