Obsessions (March 2016)

Hello, friends! We’re approaching the end of March, so it’s time for me to share some links. If you missed it last month, this is the new way I’m trying to share some of best stuff I read on the Internet. I’m sticking with 3 categories: faith and family, learning and creativity, perfectionism and freedom. (After all, those are the things I’m basically obsessed with.)

This month, I’m so excited to share posts from some of my favorite blogs, plus some of my dearest friends. I just loved rereading these posts to share them with you here–there’s some good, good truth here, and it was good for my soul to read it.

Also, something new: whenever possible, I will include the name of the author of each piece. Sometimes, I think we forget that even though it’s the internet, real people with real names are REALLY writing this stuff, and it matters. I’m going to try to be better about that.

faith_family

  1. “This is why we don’t go to pet stores,” by Tresta Payne. (I met Trista at the Writer’s Barn event, and I just love her beautiful writing.) “I should really start parenting from those hopes and living from those hopes, not the assumptions that sell me short.”
  2. “The Table,” by Shannan Martin. “Our kids don’t have big opinions on doctrine or procedure. They’re malleable and unfancy. Teachable. Committed to living the simple. The Holy Spirit is alive and rowdy among them at His table.”
  3. “Beth’s Secret,” by Asha Junot. (My good friend Asha shared her thoughts on why seeing Beth Moore preach live and in person was so meaningful to her. It’s so well-written and insightful.) “Aside from her Southern grace and grit, her big hair, and her overall enthusiasm; the reason I most love Beth is because it is so obvious that she has been with Jesus.”

learning_creativity

  1. “Kind-Hearted Reality Shows I Would Like to See,” by Maddie Howard.  (This article is both funny and, well…true.) “After a long day of reading ugly Internet comments, asinine court decisions, and terrifying global warming articles, I often find myself wanting to come home to something pleasant. I don’t want to watch anyone fail, and I don’t want to watch anyone fight — I just want the reality-show equivalent of a gentle massage or a home-cooked meal, and to be reassured that not everything in the world is horrible, all of the time.”
  2. “21 Lists You Need to Keep to Lead a More Satisfying Life,” by Kelsey Humphreys. (I don’t know that the lists themselves are really key to leading a more satisfied life, but I think lists keep us from getting distracted by what will NOT lead to a satisfying life.” “What is really most important to you overall?  If you were to look back 5 years from now, what will you hope you spent the most time and energy on? Most of the items on this list won’t change much…” 
  3. “Fear is boring, and other tips for leading a creative life,” by Liz Gilbert, via TED. “…once you tap into your curiosity and allow yourself permission to follow it wherever it takes you, you will find very quickly that you are living a much more creative life than you were last year.”

perfectionism_freedom

  1. “Come Pick Me Up,” by Erin Loechner. “She who is feeling bluesy must hereby draw a remedy from the official ‘Winter Blues Cure Jar,’ located just north of the kitchen counter pistachios. Contents of said remedy must be acted upon immediately, with no arguments from the subconscious mind/body/soul of said bluesy one. Cure will take effect in five minutes or less, although patience is always encouraged.”
  2. “The Inevitability of Looking Stupid,” by Kendra Adachi. “The rehearsing and reliving are self-preservation strategies, but we’re trying to stop something that can’t be stopped. That’s why being a person is hard; we say and do stupid things, and people see. ” 
  3. “Forgetting,” by Melissa Forbes. “I don’t know why I got to move to a neighborhood where people love well, why I now feel free to screw up, not without consequence, but certainly without trauma.”

If you’ve read something great this month, please, please share! And happy Sunday!

Author: Lindsey Cornett

A Florida girl navigating life in Michigan // learning to trade perfectionism for freedom with an iced coffee in hand

Leave a Reply

