What I’m Into (February 2016)

I know it’s cliche to say it, but–whoa. Where is time going? I’m still writing 2015 on everything and am still hashing out what I want my year to look like, and suddenly a whole two months have gone by. I keep telling myself that it’s ok. I have this sense that I don’t want to grasping at passing minutes, panicked as they fly by. I just want to move along, ebb and flow with the passing of time and the changing seasons. So there’s that. And here’s what I was into in February. (Linking up with Leigh Kramer, per usual.)

IMG_2722

Reading:

In January (because I never shared a round up then), I finished reading The Martian, The Memoir Project, Nobody’s Cuter Than Youand Coming Clean. In February, it was all about All the Light We Cannot See. (I shared my thoughts about this book and the lessons I learned from it a few posts back!) I also started reading After You. So far, I’m finding it a little more contrived and predictable than Me Before You, but I still can’t put it down and am anxious to see where Moyes takes it. (I’ve also continued to slowly work my way through bits of The Jesus Way, Rising StrongThe Fringe Hoursand Writing Down the Bones.)

Just a few days ago, I discovered a new app called Litsy. It works like Instagram, in that you follow people and scroll through their pictures, which are accompanied by small captions. Here’s the kicker: ALL THE PICTURES ARE OF BOOKS. It’s for reviewing and sharing the books in our lives. I’ve never been able to get into Good Reads, so I’m excited to give this a try. My username on Litsy is lindseycornett. I hope you’ll join and follow!

You can find links to some of the best things I’ve read on the Internet this month here.

Listening:

After Evan saw Leon Bridges perform “Jesus Gave Me Water” on Colbert, I’ve been listening to his album, which I really like. It’s great writing music.

Besides that, The Lumineers have a new single! It has taken them a long time release new music, and I’ve been nervous that it just won’t compare to their first album. But, I LOVE this song. And so does our entire family, especially Ian. We’ve been dancing to this one quite a bit.

I posted on Instagram that I have switched to Overcast for listening to podcasts, and I don’t think I’ll ever go back! I love being able to set up playlists, and I love the Smart Speed feature (which has saved me over 97 minutes of listening time, without making people sound like chipmunks).

Around Grand Rapids:

A few weeks ago, Evan’s parents were in town and we took them to the “Saturday Experience” at Grand Rapids Coffee Roasters. We loved it! You just can’t beat free coffee samples (and by “samples” I mean, you just get to fill up as many mugs as you want). Evan’s parents are a bit obsessed with coffee, so they enjoyed getting to create a custom roast.

IMG_2663
Ian helping himself to some of my free coffee.

That experience reminded Evan and I that we had an idea to visit a different Grand Rapids coffee shop every weekend until we try them all. We have a list of about 20 coffee shops in the city. (Obviously, we are not including any Starbucks, Bigby, Dunkin Donuts, or Tim Hortons.) So, we kicked that off last weekend and are very much looking forward to consuming all the caffeine GR has to offer.

 

IMG_2718
My cute little macchiato at Ferris Coffee & Nut Co. How swoon-worthy is the color of that espresso cup?

We’ve had a few days here when temperatures have rinsen into the 50s, which makes me more than eager for spring. I am so grateful for the mild winter we’ve had. It’s as though God took pity on us poor Floridians and decided to cut us a break. 😉 At the same time, we did have quite a snow storm last week! It dumped the most snow we’ve seen since we moved.

 

 

Other stuff:

For a few months now, I’ve been posting “Monday Benedictions” on Instagram, which I just love doing. It always gets my week off on the right foot.

I’m also growing obsessed with Voxer. I don’t know too many people on the app, but I’m having such good conversations with some friends who are on it. It’s better than texting without all the anxiety of phone calls.

Next weekend, I’m heading to Dallas with my sweet friend Melissa for Hope Spoken. We booked this trip SO long ago that I almost thought it would never come, but now that it’s here, I positively CAN’T WAIT. And if that indicates how the rest of March is going to go, I say bring it on.

 

2 thoughts on “What I’m Into (February 2016)

  1. I love your idea of checking out all of your local coffee spots! I’m hoping that we can venture out a bit and find some new places near us once it gets a bit warmer!

  2. Heather @ Joshua's Girl March 6, 2016 — 10:24 pm

    The Fringe Hours has been on my TBR list. Enjoyed reading your post! 🙂

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close