What I Learned (Jan. & Feb. 2016)

Linking up with Emily Freeman again to share what I learned in February…and January, because I forgot to publish this post last month. 😉

This month’s lessons are random–books and tv shows and podcasts, plus Barbie.

  1. My favorite Gilmore Girls plot lines always involve Emily & Richard. I started rewatching Gilmore Girls from the beginning. Most days, I watch an episode while Ian naps and I’m feeding Leo. I’ve been surprised to find that this time around, I love the episodes that revolve around Lorelai’s relationship with her parents! And I don’t know why it just dawned on me that, of course, Emily is a “Gilmore Girl” too!
  2. Video games can make you cry. Or at least, the story behind a very unique video game can. I HIGHLY recommend this episode of RadioLab, about a video game created by a dad facing his son’s cancer diagnosis. Kleenex alert.
  3. It’s good for me to put my phone on airplane mode before going to bed. I don’t know why this didn’t occur to me before, but putting my phone on airplane mode before going to bed is a great way to avoid scrolling through social media immediately after waking up.
  4. I am fascinated by morning routines. Mymorningroutine.com will send you an email each Wednesday that details somebody’s morning routine. I love the glimpse into how creatives, makers, and entrepreneurs choose to start their days. I especially love how much the routines vary, proving that there really is no “one size fits all” way to do life. (This is where I learned that airplane mode trick!)
  5. Barbie! Have you seen the changes to the Barbie line? You can now buy Barbies in tall, petite, and curvy, plus a slew of hair styles and skin tones. I love this change. I love the idea that if I ever have daughters, it will be so much easier to find a Barbie doll who they can relate to.
  6. It took Anthony Doerr ten years to write All the Light We Cannot See. TEN YEARS. And it was a good reminder to me that the best things take time.

Here’s to another month of good listening, good reading, good lessons, good life.

Author: Lindsey Cornett

A Florida girl navigating life in Michigan // learning to trade perfectionism for freedom with an iced coffee in hand

1 thought on “What I Learned (Jan. & Feb. 2016)”

Leave a Reply

