Some Links to Love

I didn’t really have time to put together an entire “What I’m Into” post for August. (All that time I thought I would have for writing on vacation? Ha! Turns out, toddlers still need attention on vacation. Who knew?) But, I did still have a list of links to interesting Internet finds that I’d been keeping, so I wanted to be sure to pass them along.

So, grab yourself a cup of coffee and enjoy!

Parenting and Kids:

The benefits of being an introverted parent. As a stay-at-home mom, I’m learning to pay attention to how my introversion affects my parenting. (It’s one of the reasons I’ve learned to fiercely protect nap time.) Along the way, I definitely bought into the lie that I would somehow be a better parent if I could more easily handle lots of noise and people-time. I’m super grateful for this perspective. (Also, how great is Susan Cain’s new web site?! I need to remember to check it out more often. If you haven’t read Quiet, I highly recommend it.)

An oldie but a goodie from Glennon Melton at the start of the school year. What a wonderful teacher. I’m asking myself, “How do I apply this even though I’m not a teacher in a classroom?”

What an awesome blog! Small, photographic glimpses into the lives kids lead and the places where kids and adults overlap.

Home:

Tips of the Trade: Kitchen Styling. Super simple, step-by-step guide to filling up your shelves beautifully without overwhelming them.

The Cheater’s Guide to Easy Window Treatments. When we moved into our house, none of our windows had anything on them whatsoever (and there are a lot of windows). We have curtains in the living room, but we have pretty cheap blinds every where else. How amazing do those copper pipes look in lieu of curtain rods?!

THIS APARTMENT. I love, love, love it. There are so many neat details to absorb, but I really love what they did with the curtains in the master bedroom. It’s now on my to-do list.

And other good stuff:

12 Must See TED Talks for Women. This list has some of my favorite TED talks ever–Ken Robinson on schools and creativity, Why 30 is not the new 20, and Susan Cain on the power of introverts (again)–but I haven’t yet seen the rest. I’m excited to watch them. (How is that I still haven’t seen Brene Brown’s TED talks?)

A Love Letter to Libraries. My elementary school librarian was a special lady. Sadly, I can not remember her name (HATE that), but I do remember how she made me feel, how the library felt like a special place. I still specifically remember the experience of her reading certain books aloud. And now that I take Ian to storytime at the library every week, I am already grateful for Ms. Monica, who is, indeed, the kind of librarian who makes the children’s section of the library feel like a wonderful place to be.

An excerpt from Mindy Kaling’s new book on developing confidence. Is there anyone in the world who doesn’t love and appreciate Mindy Kaling?

Shauna Niequist on handling potentially hard conversations on the internet. I have so many thoughts about this blog post, because I wrestle with this issue in so many different ways. I am so grateful for Shauna’s perspective here.

I am living proof that everything this article says is true. In what may be the most hipster thing I ever say, maybe Macs & Moleskines sell well to the same people because those are people who like quality??? (I say that sort of facetiously…but I am typing this on my Macbook, and I have a Moleskine sitting immediately to my right. Ha!)

Have an awesome weekend!

Author: Lindsey Cornett

A Florida girl navigating life in Michigan // learning to trade perfectionism for freedom with an iced coffee in hand

Leave a Reply

