What I’m Into: June 2015

Today I’m linking up with Leigh Kramer to share what I was into in June.

June was another full and fun month around here. We celebrated 5 years of marriage by spending a weekend in Chicago, Evan’s mom has been in town visiting us (and his dad will be here in a few days), and yesterday, we learned that this little baby we’re expecting is another BOY!

IMG_0870

I continued wrestling with finding a good rhythm at home with Ian, but we just keep plugging away and making progress little-by-little. I didn’t do nearly as much writing as I hoped or follow-through on my Power Sheets as well as I would have liked, but that’s what a new month is for.

IMG_0604

I’ve been thinking a lot about paying for music I love instead of just streaming it, and I’ve been wrestling with the news out of Charleston and the rest of the south and where we go from here.

Every day, I checked the weather in Florida and felt grateful for this beautiful, cool, breeze Michigan summer we’re experiencing.

Read and Reading:

This month, I finished reading The Happiness Project, The Giver, and Station Eleven. I’d recommend all three, but Station Eleven takes the cake. I’ve gushed about it to pretty much everyone. I started reading State of Wonder and Daring Greatly(I feel like I’ve underlined practically every word of it). I’ll probably need to pick up the pace if I’m going to finish my summer reading list.

station eleven

Funny and oh-so-true. Let’s try to not be this person.

What a cool creative practice! I think this would be a good thing for me to try.

An awesome list of picture books I’d never heard of but am excited to check out.

I have been mulling this over, because I’m not sure what my right time of day is.

I need to read some Flannery O’Connor.

I’m wondering what in my life is routine vs. what is ritual.

This bit about the JOY of missing out instead of the FEAR of missing out? Oof. That’s big time.

Listening to:

Evan and I saw Inside Out while in Chicago, and I loved it so much. (Though, honestly, I feel like someone should have warned me that it was about a family moving across the country!) The discussion about it on Pop Culture Happy Hour is really great.

Joy Williams’ new album is out, and you must go listen to it right. now. It’s beautiful. While I am still grieving the loss of The Civil Wars, she stands firmly on her own two feet.

Chicago:

Ok, guys. Let’s just take a moment to acknowledge the FOOD in Chicago. Amazing. We ate at Yolk, Wildberry Pancakes and Cafe, Chicago q, and Quartino… and they all get counted among the best meals I’ve ever had in my life. I was seriously having a moment with the pulled pork sandwich at Chicago q.

And I was absolutely in LOVE with the Chicago Institute of Art. I could have spent forever there.

IMG_0888

Here’s to a wonderful, warm, summery July!

2 thoughts on “What I’m Into: June 2015

  1. Congrats on expecting a boy! Glad you had such a good time in Chicago. The Art Institute is pretty much one of my favorite places on earth.

  2. lindseylearns July 6, 2015 — 7:25 am

    Thank you, Leigh!!
    It’s one of my favorite places now, too!

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close