Favorite Places of 2014: Melissa’s Porch

As I’ve been reflecting on 2014, it occurred to me that so much of what I experienced and learned and loved about this year is tied to the places in which it happened. This week, I’m going to share a bit about my favorite places of 2014. The final post in this series will come tomorrow.
As I’ve been reflecting on 2014, it occurred to me that so much of what I experienced and learned and loved about this year is tied to the places in which it happened. This week, I’m going to share a bit about my favorite places of 2014. The final post in this series will come tomorrow.

When Melissa, Lauren, Melanie and I learned that we all write blogs, we decided to help and support one another. I don’t actually remember how this came up originally, but somehow we just banded together about this funny hobby of ours and before long, they were some of my nearest and dearest friends.

When Melissa transferred off the staff of the church, we moved our writing lunches to her back porch. And oh, I am so glad we did! Melissa’s porch is the best: the wooden framing painted white, the interior walls a lovely light mossy green. All around the edges of the room, succulents and bromeliads grow: all shades of green, hanging in planters or sprawling over the edges of terra cotta pots. Somehow, despite the fact that we live in Florida, I’ve only encountered absolutely perfect weather on Melissa’s porch. Not too hot, not too cold, always a light breeze, the sound of her grandfather clock chiming indoors.

We meet here on Wednesday afternoons. We each bring our lunch, and Melissa keeps our favorite drinks stocked in her fridge. Some days we drag our laptops, or we print hardcopies the the pieces we’d like to talk about. On this porch, I am learning to trust my own voice and to be vulnerable from the get go. I am learning to share my life more openly, even in rough draft form.

We eat and we pray and we talk about books and writing and stories, and we forge the type of friendship that makes me want to constantly pray, Thank You, Thank You, Thank you.

2 thoughts on “Favorite Places of 2014: Melissa’s Porch

  1. You are blessed, my friend, to have such a group. Before we moved back home in 2012 I had such a writers group and it was wonderful. Still looking to make that happen here in my new, old hometown.

  2. Teresa, I have never had a group like this, but it is simply THE BEST. Saying a prayer that you’ll find a new group of writers soon!

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close