What I Read in 2014

what i read1

I turned 26 in 2014, so at the beginning of the year, I set a goal to read 26 books this year. I had read 20-25 in the two years before, so it didn’t see impossible.

But, I didn’t quite hit it: I’m ending the year having read 19 books. Still, when you consider that before leaving for Malawi at the end of July I had only read FIVE, I’m pretty happy with the total.

(I also read The Very Hungry Catepillar approximately 109,452.7 times. So that’s got to count for something, right?)

Here’s the other thing: every book I read this year was excellent. I would recommend any of them with almost no reservations.

Not only that, but some of these books landed themselves solidly in my list of favorite. books. ever. Some of these titles have completely transformed my relationship with Jesus, not to mention how I think and feel about my work, my writing, my stuff, my community.

The books I read this year:

2014-12-21

With the exception of What Alice Forgot, all the fiction I read this year was young adult or children’s lit. That’s not really surprising, I guess. The Book Thief I am iffy about–I didn’t love the style. Still, the plot & characters stuck with me.

what i read

I have been on a nonfiction kick for a few years now. I don’t anticipate that changing in 2015.

what i read2

Let’s All Be Brave was the perfect book to read on the my way to Malawi, and What Alice Forgot was the perfect, page-turning escapism for the way home.

what i read3

Mary Oliver is my new favorite poet–American Primitive is fantastic. A Wrinkle in Time is a classic I finally got around to reading, and it was well worth it. And Wonder? The best book I read all year.

what i read4

what i read5

I chose “free” as my word of the year, and I read about it everywhere I turned. These books all informed my thoughts as I processed what freedom might look like for me.

what i read6

It was a great year for books.

Author: Lindsey Cornett

A Florida girl navigating life in Michigan // learning to trade perfectionism for freedom with an iced coffee in hand

Leave a Reply

