Day 11: A New Friend

(Well, I’m not doing a very good job keeping up with this 31 days thing. I did jot down ideas for the other days, so maybe I will go back and fill them in at some point. But for now, something is better than nothing, right?)

 

ImageEarlier this week, some good friends of our gave birth to their first little boy, just a little more than a month behind us. When I learned we were expecting last fall, I was desperate for another friend who would be experiencing the same things as me, and sure enough, I got one. Evan and I were so excited to welcome this sweet boy into the world, and we keep joking that Ian and Eli will be best friends whether they like it or not.

It’s funny, but since giving birth I am suddenly immensely proud of any woman who has done it. Eli’s birth certainly wasn’t an easy or quick one, either, and I am so, SO proud of my friend! I also loved seeing them at the hospital last night, and watching the way they so naturally seem to love and parent and relate to their son. Isn’t it amazing, the way God equips us for the things He’s asking us to do?

Looking at this brand new baby boy also made me think that Ian seems so big already! It has only been six weeks, but he looks less like a newborn and more like just a baby. Strangers who comment on him in public have said things like, “Oh, you have a really little one!” or “Oh, he’s just brand new!” But to me, watching him grow and change every moment and then comparing him to this other new baby, he seems so big.

Being a parent makes me so conscious of the passing of time: the way it somehow moves so slowly and quickly, all at the same time. Motherhood is full of contradictions, that’s for sure.

At any rate, I am so happy for our friends and so ready to love on their baby boy. Parenting intensifies my love for everything, including my friends. I am grateful to know Ian will grow up surrounded by a community that loves his parents well and will love him well, too. I know this community will teach him the importance of family and friendship, and I know they will point him toward Christ. For that, I am incredibly thankful.

 

Author: Lindsey Cornett

A Florida girl navigating life in Michigan // learning to trade perfectionism for freedom with an iced coffee in hand

Leave a Reply

