What I Learned in September

september_banner

Every month, Emily Freeman posts a list of what she’s  learned over the past few weeks and gives everyone the chance to link-up. I’m joining in on the fun today!

Here’s some of what I learned in September, in no particular order:

1. Newborns collect an almost unbelievable amount of lint in-between their fingers and toes. Maybe this is just my newborn?

2. Occasionally, my rule-following tendencies cause me a lot of unnecessary stress. I think I’ll be writing on this more in October.

3. This video of Jimmy Fallon and The Roots singing the Sesame Street theme with the show’s characters is just wonderful. It made me realize how much I’m looking forward to watching Sesame Street with Ian one day.

4. More water and less paint is the way to get a nice soft, blended look when using watercolors. I’ve been experimenting with watercolors on my scrapbook pages and other random things, but I’ve had lots of trouble getting it to look the way I wanted. Until, that is, I was working on an autumn banner for my mantle. I cut out little leaves from vintage book pages, and added what seemed like a LOT of water to them before I added color. Because I had enough water, all the colors blended so smoothly! Here’s a peak:

september_garland

5. I learned about a new app! It’s called Duolingo. It’s totally free, and helps you learn a new language in fun, manageable bites. I’ve never used Rosetta Stone, but I’m pretty sure the methods are similar, and because this is free, it’s much more doable. Each little lesson involves some listening, some speaking, some translating (from English to the new language and visa versa), some pictures, etc. It’s so easy! I’ve been working on lessons when I have tiny bits of free time, like while I’m waiting for something to microwave. I love it so far!

6. As a result of #4, I’ve learned some French this month!

4 thoughts on “What I Learned in September

  1. What exciting things going on for you! And yes – baby parts are lint magnets. Blessings!

  2. #3 – I saw that video earlier this week and it is so cute!
    #4 – You are the 3rd what I learned post I’ve read that talks about painting! I guess September was the month to paint. 🙂
    Well now, the Sesame Street song is stuck in my head. 🙂 I’m visiting from the what I learned link-up.

  3. Thanks, Kendra! 🙂
    I’m off to check out your “what I learned” post as well!

  4. Haha, yes! That Sesame Street song was stuck in my head ALL day after I saw the video. 🙂 Thanks for coming by and commenting. I’m off to check out your post, too!

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close