Fifth grade boys

Prior to this internship placement, I was more accustomed to working with primary students (grades K-2). I preferred the little guys, and I was really worried. I wondered, “How will I relate to these kids?” I was especially worried about the boys.

I quickly learned that a little sports knowledge goes a long way towards earning their respect. (Keeping their respect is another issue altogether and has a lot more to do with my teaching, but loving Tim Tebow set me heading in the right direction.)

I also learned that I should always pay attention to the sports jerseys they wear.

That way, when the name Cam Newton starts showing up on our bathroom sign-in sheet, I’ll know who to talk to.

Author: Lindsey Cornett

A Florida girl navigating life in Michigan // learning to trade perfectionism for freedom with an iced coffee in hand

Leave a Reply

