Transitions

I get married seventeen days from now. June25June25June25.

After that, it’s off to San Francisco for a six day honeymoon.

Then, off to Orlando to begin a new chapter in my life. In some ways, I feel like I’m beginning a new life all together, but I try to remind myself that this is just changing and growing, not becoming someone new.

I spend everyday with the strongest sense of anticipation I’ve ever felt. It’s like a swarm butterflies in my stomach, constantly, without ceasing. (What do you call butterflies when they travel in groups? A swarm? A flock? Do butterflies even travel in groups at all?)

Since graduation, I’ve just sort of been hanging out at home. And it really feels that way–as though I’m hanging in suspension between my life that was and my life as it will be. My time is sort of split between two feelings.

On the one hand, I feel the nostalgia that accompanies dealing with all the things I’ve held onto all these years. I’m working on scrapbooking it, packing it up, or getting rid of it.

On the other hand, there’s the anticipation that comes with wedding and honeymoon planning…not to mention just LIFE planning. I am not stressed out or nervous about wedding stuff…it’s the stuff that comes after that has me anxious. Will we find somewhere to live? Will we get enough financial aid to cover school and other expenses? Will I be able to fit all my stuff into our new place? What will I cook that he will like? Will I find the community in our new church that I’m hoping for? There is just so much! So much to think about.

But it’s all good. So good.

There’s constant butterflies…

and a constant smile and sense of joy. I’ve never been so excited for anything in my life. In the meantime, I’ll work on cherishing the next seventeen days.

This weekend, I get to spend some time with my college friends, and I couldn’t be more thrilled! 🙂

Author: Lindsey Cornett

A Florida girl navigating life in Michigan // learning to trade perfectionism for freedom with an iced coffee in hand

Leave a Reply

